Responsive image

2015 SLAS Innovation Award

The annual SLAS Innovation Award recognizes extraordinary achievement in innovative laboratory science and technology. All those selected to deliver podium presentations at the annual flagship SLAS international conference and exhibition are eligible to be considered for this award. After considering abstracts by more than 83 SLAS2015 podium presenters, the SLAS Innovation Award panel of judges selected the following 10 presentations as finalists, listed alphabetically by presenter last name. These presenters will compete for a $10,000 cash prize and to be added to this prestigious list of previous winners. The final round of judging will take place at SLAS2015, with the winning presentation announced during the closing keynote session on Wednesday, February 11. You can see abstracts and other details on these – and all SLAS2015 podium presentations — using the SLAS2015 Event Scheduler.

Marie-Elena Brett, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN USA
Droplet-Based Three Dimensional Cell Migration Assay with Flow Cytometry Based Automated Analysis

David C. Duffy, Quanterix Corporation, Lexington, MA, USA
The Simoa HD-1 Analyzer: A Fully-Automated, Multiplexed Immunoanalyzer with Single Molecule Sensitivity

David J. Guckenberger, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin, USA
An Automated Open Platform for Exclusion-based Sample Preparation: Getting More Information from Limited Patient Samples

Joo Hun Kang, Wyss Institute/Harvard University, Boston, MA, USA
Bioinspired Spleen-on-a-chip for Sepsis Therapy

Robert Kennedy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Droplet Microfluidics for High Throughput Analysis and Sensing

Joonyul Kim, Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA
Zero Background in Homogeneous Proximity Assays Using Thermofluorimetric Analysis (TFA) for Quantitation of Attomole Protein Levels in Serum

Sergei S. Makarov, ATTAGENE, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
Annotating Biological Activities of Compounds by High-content Pathway Profiling Assays

Thomas D. Perroud, eFluidics, San Jose, CA, USA
Automation of Droplet Manipulation Using Electrowetting on Film

Aaron Wheeler, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Digital Microfluidic Immunocytochemistry in Single Cells (DISC)

Jonathan Wingfield, AstraZeneca, Cambridge, UNITED KINGDOM
Novel Acoustic Loading of a Mass Spectrometer – Towards Next Generation High Throughput MS Screening