Responsive image

SLAS2015 Mentoring Program

Students and Early Career Professionals — don't miss out on the opportunity for FREE one-on-one mentoring and career counselling with an industry expert while you are at SLAS2015. Click here for a complete schedule of Career Connection offerings.

Professor Eustace will be offering his popular one-on-one career counseling sessions in the Member Center on Monday and Tuesday. Schedule a session to have your resume reviewed, hone your interviewing techniques, or simply discuss the options available to you after graduation.

Joanne Kamens will also hold Office Hours for Q&A after each of her sessions on Monday and Tuesday.

Additionally, there are several industry experts lined up to offer one-on-one mentoring sessions at SLAS2015. Mentoring sessions will be 45 minutes in length and will be held Monday and Tuesday in the morning and afternoon. See below for information on the SLAS2015 Mentors.

These sessions are first come-first serve. Email Mary Geismann, or stop by the Member Center for more details.

SLAS2015 Mentors:

Gary Kramer, NIST

Gary W. Kramer received his B.A. from Earlham College and his Ph.D. from Purdue University in organic chemistry with Professor H.C. Brown. He joined Purdue's Chemistry Instrumentation Facility and co-directed a project to automate organic synthesis development for which he received a Pioneer in Laboratory Robotics award in 1985. In 1990, he came to the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) as a Research Chemist and over the following 24 years served in a number of research and management roles: Project Manager for the Consortium on Automated Analytical Laboratory Systems (CAALS), Leader of the Chemical Sensing and Automation Technology Group, the Molecular Spectroscopy and Microfluidic Methods Group, and the Biospectroscopy Group, and Computer Security Officer for the Biochemical Science Division. He retired from Federal service in 2014. His NIST research involved development of laboratory automation standards, standards for fluorescence measurements, standards and practices for nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and a markup language for analytical chemistry result data interchange and archiving (AnIML). He served on numerous editorial and advisory boards and standards committees including those of the Analytical Science Digital Library, JALA, and NCCLS/CLSI. He received the Association for Laboratory Automation Achievement Award in 1998 and the ALA Charter Member Award in 2004, and continues to chair the ASTM Subcommittee E13.15 on Analytical Data.

Wayne P Bowen, PhD, TTP Labtech
Chief Scientific Officer

Wayne Bowen is Chief Scientific Officer at TTP Labtech, Cambridge, UK. His PhD on receptor biochemistry was received from the University of Glasgow. He subsequently worked in the Neuroscience Department at SmithKline Beecham pharmaceuticals working on novel therapeutics for the treatment of depression, Parkinson's Disease and stroke. In 1996, Dr Bowen co-founded the biotechnology firm Pharmagene plc and coordinated biochemical research on human tissue. At TTP Labtech, he supports a range of innovative instruments for pharmaceutical research specialising in fluorescence-detection technologies.

Scott Mosser, Merck
Director of Pharmacology
Assay Operations Team Lead

Scott is the Director of Pharmacology: Assay Operations Team Lead, managing of a team of scientists focused on the integration of innovative technologies enabling robust and efficient execution of a wide range of In Vitro assays, compound management activities, data capture and reporting, and related automated and informatic processes.

Julie O'Brien, Merck
Associate Principal Scientist
Assay Operations Team Member

As a Merck Assay Operations Team Member with 28 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry, Julie has experience in a variety of in vitro assays aimed at medium to high throughput characterization of structure activity relationship for drug discovery. Areas of expertise include allosteric modulators, cell based assays, biochemical assays, binding assays, and FLIPR Tetra. Efavirenz and Belsomra are two drugs that she has collaborated on to bring to the market.

Martha Ackerman-Berrier, Sanofi Tucson Innovation Center
Principal Scientist and High Volume Biology Group Leader

The High Volume Biology Group, which Martha manages, is part of the Discovery Biology Group at the Sanofi Tucson Innovation Center. The group is responsible for the design and execution of highly complex assays in a high throughput environment. The group adapts assays for high throughput screening, develops novel assays and workflows, and supports post-HTS compound profiling, along with managing the associated data that is generated. They employ a variety of assay technologies, complex instrumentation, and data analysis platforms-in a multidisciplinary environment-to accomplish this.

Shastine Keeney, Twist Bioscience
Senior Automation Engineer

Shastine Keeney is an Automation Engineer at Twist Bioscience. She originally studied Mechanical Engineering at U.C. Berkeley. She started her career with industrial robotics for applications such as fiber optic manufacturing and semi conductor manufacturing. In 2005 she took her first job in biotech working as an automation engineer in Genentech's pilot plant doing process automation. However she missed robots and moved into laboratory automation af Genentech in 2008, and she has been wrangling liquid handling robotics ever since.

Betsy Jean Yakes, PhD, FDA
Research Chemist

Betsy Jean Yakes earned her PhD in analytical chemistry in 2007 and has been with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration since then as a specialist in immunoassay development and spectroscopic techniques for food safety and food defense. Her current emphasis is on creating rapid, sensitive, accurate detection methods for biotoxins and pathogens using biosensors as well as investigating portable, Raman spectroscopy instrumentation as a tool to identify food contaminants. Her projects allow her to collaborate with international researchers as well as the opportunity to mentor younger scientists.

Dr. Alan Anderson, Assistant Professor, Bowie State University
President, Chemical Society of Washington

Dr. Alan Anderson is an Assistant Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Natural Sciences at Bowie State University. He has demonstrated excellence in teaching and research in the area of organic synthesis and has received several accolades including 2014 Researcher of the Year. Alan is currently President of the Chemical Society of Washington, the local ACS Section for the Washington, DC area that serves approximately 4,000 members.

Claire Chisolm, PhD, USP
Senior Scientist III, Reference Standards Laboratory

Claire Chisolm completed her PhD at the University of Michigan in 2010, developing micro-scale sampling devices for near real-time monitoring of pharmaceutical ingredient synthesis, as well as working on microfluidic immunoassay development. After graduate school, she worked on forensic applications of ICP-MS at MRI Global. She has worked at the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) since 2011 in both the R&D and Reference Standards laboratories. Her work at USP has been focused on developing and testing GC and LC methods for analysis of pharmaceuticals, excipients and foods. Claire also serves as a board member of the Washington Chromatography Discussion Group (WCDG).